Westerwaldprize 2019 for Johannes Nagel

We congratulate Johannes Nagel on receiving the Westerwaldprize 2019.

Since 1973 the prize has been awarded by the Keramikmuseum Westerwald to honour outstanding ceramic works and to present them to a broad public in an exhibition. The aim is to promote the dialogue between ceramics and art in the region and to enhance cultural exchange within Europe.

A total of 425 applications from all over Europe were submitted for this year’s invitation to the 14th Westerwaldprize. The jury – consisting of the chief administrator of the Westerwald district Achim Schwickert, the museum director Dr. Nele van Wieringen, the Berlin gallery owner and art collector Jörg Johnen, the former professor for ceramics in North-Carolina and Chicago and former director of the European Ceramic Workcentre Xavier Toubes, the British artist Julian Stair and the chief curator of the MAK Frankfurt Dr. Sabine Runde – admitted 47 artists with a total of 73 works to the second round of judging.

In addition to Johannes Nagel, who was honored with the first prize for Ceramics endowed with € 10,000, Jesse Magee (*Urbana/IL, USA) received the second prize endowed with € 6,000. Monika Debus (*Siegen, DE) and Franz Julien (*Ludwigshafen, DE) share the prize for Saltfire Ceramics this year. Hyunjin Kim (*Suwon, KOR) was also honored with the Student Award.

Exhibition opening: 29.9.2019 from 5 p.m., Keramikmuseum Westerwald

The catalogue to mark the award ceremony and exhibition will appear in our programme. A publication on Johannes Nagel’s work has already appeared in 2018.


Leave a Comment

Cookies on the website

If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time. You can find detailed information about how cookies are used on this website by clicking on ‘Find out more’.