Nele van Wieringen for the Westerwaldkreis (eds)


Ceramics of Europe


144 pages
21 x 28 cm, 87 ills
English / German

34,00 incl. VAT

Keramikmuseum Westerwald, Höhr-Grenzhausen (DE), 27.9.2019–15.3.2020
ISBN 978-3-89790-578-8 Categories: ,


The Westerwald Prize is awarded to outstanding ceramic works in a competition. As in previous years, the 74 works selected from 425 submissions, which are now presented in the publication, demonstrate the high aesthetic and artistic standards of ceramic works throughout Europe. First and foremost, however, this applies to the prizewinners Johannes Nagel and Jesse Magee in Free Ceramics; Monika Debus and Franz Julien for Salzbrand (Prize of the City of Höhr-Grenzhausen); and Hyunjin Kim, who received the Förderpreis.

After the establishment of the prize was initially aimed to promote the dialogue between ceramics and art in the Westerwald region. The great interest in the competition and the political developments of recent years prompted the organizers to announce the prize throughout Europe already in 1999. Since then, this dissolution of boundaries has been reflected in the enormous quality of the submitted works.

With contributions by Jörg Johnen, Dr. Sabine Runde, Achim Schwickert, Julian Stair, Michael Thiesen, Nele van Wieringen, Konrad Wolf


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “14. WESTERWALD PRIZE 2019”

You may also like…

Cookies on the website

If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time. You can find detailed information about how cookies are used on this website by clicking on ‘Find out more’