Johanna Lessmann ITALIENISCHE MAJOLIKA AUS GOETHES BESITZ
Johanna Lessmann

ITALIENISCHE MAJOLIKA AUS GOETHES BESITZ

Bestandskatalog der Klassik Stiftung Weimar
320 pages
22 x 28 cm, 311 colour illustrations. Hardback.
English
ISBN: 978-3-89790-386-9

Publication out of print

Description:

For Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, the appeal of Italian majolica lay in the themes of its ornamental painting, especially those reflecting Greco-Roman mythology. In his view they echoed the splendour of Renaissance art. This publication presents all the objects in his majolica collection, expertly described and with large-format illustrations.

‘Serene pleasure’ was what Johann Wolfgang von Goethe felt with regard to his collection of Italian majolica, tin-glazed earthenware, painted with vibrant high-fire colours and reflecting biblical, mythological and historical themes. Therefore his extensive art collections include a total of 97 majolicas, which have been kept at his former home at Frauenplan until today.

After the first unpublished compilation of the collection in 1958, this publication provides the first comprehensive art historical study of the individual objects, based on the most recent research findings. Furthermore, it details the provenance of the majolicas that Goethe purchased between c. 1800 and 1830, especially from Nuremberg. The relations between Venice and the southern German trade centres play an important role here, opening up new insights into the majolica trade.

You may also like...

DYSTHE DESIGN
TAPIO WIRKKALA
EKSTRØM EXTREME
HANDMADE IN GERMANY

Cookies on the website

If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time. You can find detailed information about how cookies are used on this website by clicking on ‘Find out more’.

Johanna Lessmann

ITALIENISCHE MAJOLIKA AUS GOETHES BESITZ

Bestandskatalog der Klassik Stiftung Weimar
320 Seiten
22 x 28 cm, 311 Abbildungen in Farbe. Hardcover.
Deutsch
ISBN: 978-3-89790-386-9

TITEL VERGRIFFEN

Für Johann Wolfgang von Goethe lag der Reiz italienischer Majoliken in den Themen ihrer Bemalung, insbesondere denen aus der griechisch-römischen Mythologie. Sie erschienen ihm wie ein Abglanz der Kunst der Renaissance. Die vorliegende Publikation präsentiert alle Exemplare seiner Majolika-Sammlung fachkundig bearbeitet und in großformatigen Abbildungen.

„Heiteren Genuß“ bot Johann Wolfgang von Goethe seine Sammlung italienischer Majoliken, zinnglasierter Irdenware, bemalt in kräftigen Scharffeuerfarben mit biblischen, mythologischen und historischen Themen. Zu seinen umfangreichen Kunstsammlungen gehört daher auch ein Bestand von insgesamt 97 Majoliken, die in seinem ehemaligen Wohnhaus am Frauenplan in Weimar bis heute erhalten sind.

Die vorliegende Publikation bietet nach einer unveröffentlichten Erfassung der Sammlung 1958 die erste umfassende kunsthistorische Untersuchung der einzelnen Objekte auf der Grundlage neuester Forschungsergebnisse. Dargestellt ist darüber hinaus die Provenienz der Majoliken, die Goethe zwischen ca. 1800 und 1830 vor allem aus Nürnberg erwarb. Hierbei spielen die Beziehungen zwischen Venedig und den süddeutschen Handelszentren eine wichtige Rolle, so dass sich neue Einsichten in den Handel mit Majolika eröffnen.

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Hinweis zu Cookies

Durch die Nutzung dieser Webseite erklären Sie sich mit der Verwendung von Cookies einverstanden. Detaillierte Informationen über den Einsatz von Cookies auf dieser Webseite erhalten Sie durch Klick auf „Mehr Informationen“. An dieser Stelle können Sie auch der Verwendung von Cookies widersprechen und die Browsereinstellungen entsprechend anpassen.