arnodsche Hartmut Esslinger KEEP IT SIMPLE
Hartmut Esslinger

KEEP IT SIMPLE

The Early Design Years of Apple
Introduction by Prof. Dr. Florian Hufnagl, Director General of Die Neue Sammlung – The International Design Museum Munich. 296 pages
21.6 cm x 25.4 cm. 400 colour illustrations. Flexibind.
English
978-3-89790-407-1

PUBLICATION OUT OF PRINT

Keep it Simple introduces the success story of Apple from the viewpoint of Hartmut Esslinger, who as an external designer in close collaboration with Steve Jobs was essentially responsible for the design of Apple products. His authentic perspective dispels many a myth – a must for all Apple enthusiasts.

The result of this partnership between entrepreneur and designer is of historic dimensions: Steve Jobs was the first to make Strategic Design the core of Apple’s business strategy. By this, Apple grew from an originally technology focused company into one of the world’s most successful, global brand, and this was achieved by creating and delivering innovative and intelligent products designed for humans like you and me.

Of course, there are many books about Steve Jobs and Apple. Professionals everywhere want to be like him – or want their company to succeed like Apple – so they avidly snatch up accounts of his work, hoping to find the magical recipe. For those readers this book is a first, because it tells the story of Apple’s evolution from the inside and the beginning, when Steve was first driven by the power of design to establish Keep it Simple as the strategic core of Apple’s business model. This book also is for the millions of Apple users, admirers, fans, and critics who may be curious about the origins of the products and the brand they feel so deeply about.

There are plenty of myths surrounding Steve Jobs and Apple. Now – based on Hartmut Esslinger’s comprehensive archive of hundreds of sketches, images and written records – it is time to tell it like it really was. Keep it Simple describes a creative journey, which had to overcome a tremendous opposition inside and outside of Apple.

VIDEO

Design Forward. Advice for Designers by Hartmut Esslinger

PODCAST

Listen to Hartmut Esslinger interviewed by Debbie Millman in her series ‘Design Matters’, 29 July 2013.

ABSTRACT OF CHAPTER 3

Read an abstract of chapter 3, Keep it Simple.

 

Leave a Comment

Zu Weihnachten haben wir einige besonders schöne Publikationen zusammengestellt. Für diejenigen, die Ihnen besonders am Herzen liegen. Für Freunde, Familie oder einfach für Sie selbst

3

for

2

Get 3 publications for the price of 2

Buy 3 books or more at a time and get the cheapest for free. Only valid in the EU, UK, Switzerland, Norway, USA & Canada. Offer not valid for fixed-price books in Germany and Austria. T&Cs.

Cookies on the website

If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time. You can find detailed information about how cookies are used on this website by clicking on ‘Find out more’.

arnodsche Hartmut Esslinger KEEP IT SIMPLE
Hartmut Esslinger

KEEP IT SIMPLE

The Early Design Years of Apple
Mit einer Einführung von Prof. Dr. Florian Hufnagl, Direktor Die Neue Sammlung – The International Design Museum Munich. 296 Seiten
21,6 cm x 25,4 cm. 400 Abbildungen in Farbe. Flexocover.
Englisch
978-3-89790-407-1

TITEL VERGRIFFEN

Keep it Simple erzählt den Anfang der Erfolgsstory von Apple aus Sicht Hartmut Esslingers, der in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Steve Jobs als externer Designer maßgeblich für die Gestaltung der Apple-Produkte verantwortlich war. Seine authentische Sichtweise räumt mit zahlreichen Mythen auf – ein Muss für alle Apple-Liebhaber.

Das Ergebnis dieser Partnerschaft von Unternehmer und Designer ist historisch: Steve Jobs war der Erste, der Strategisches Design zum zentralen Element von Apples neuer Strategie machte. Damit entwickelte sich Apple von einem zunächst technologisch ausgerichteten Computer-Unternehmen zu einer der erfolgreichsten, globalen Marken: innovative und intelligente Produkte für Menschen konzipiert und produziert.

Natürlich gibt es viele Bücher über Steve Jobs und Apple. Unternehmer und Manager überall auf der Welt wollen so sein wie er – oder träumen davon, dass ihre Firma denselben Erfolg wie Apple hat – und so verschlingen sie eifrig alle Berichte in der Hoffnung, die Zauberformel zu finden. Für diese Leser ist Keep it Simple, oder „Genial Einfach“, ein Novum, denn es erzählt die Entwicklungsgeschichte von Apple von dem Zeitpunkt an, ab dem Steve zum ersten Mal das wirkliche Potenzial des Designs erkannte. Er war davon getrieben, dies dann als strategischen Leitgedanken in Apples Geschäftsmodell zu etablieren. Dieses Buch ist aber auch für die Millionen von Apple-Usern, -Bewunderern, -Fans und -Kritikern gedacht, die neugierig sind und gerne mehr über die Ursprünge der Produkte und der Marke erfahren möchten, die solch starke Emotionen hervorruft.

Es gibt viele Mythen über Steve Jobs und Apple und es ist an der Zeit, basierend auf Hartmut Esslingers umfangreichem Archiv, bestehend aus hunderten von Skizzen, Bildern und Aufzeichnungen, zu erzählen wie es wirklich war. „Genial Einfach“ beschreibt eine kreative Mission, die sich gegen starke Widerstände, innerhalb und außerhalb von Apple, durchsetzte.

VIDEO

Sehen Sie hier Design Forward. Advice for Designers von Hartmut Esslinger.

PODCAST

Hören Sie hier Hartmut Esslinger im Interview mit Debbie Millman in der Serie „Design Matters“ des Design Obervers.

AUSZUG AUS KAPITEL 3

Lesen Sie hier einen Auszug aus Kapitel 3, Genial Einfach.

SLIDESHOW

Sehen Sie hier die Slideshow auf Zeit Online.

 

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Under these unusual circumstances, with exhibitions, galleries and our favourite book shops closed – and whilst we are all recommended to maintain social distancing – we think our beautiful art publications could be the perfect way to get through this uncertain period.

30% off all purchases and free delivery with code

STAYHOME

EU, UK, Switzerland, Norway, US & Canada only. Not valid for fixed price books in Germany and Austria

Hinweis zu Cookies

Durch die Nutzung dieser Webseite erklären Sie sich mit der Verwendung von Cookies einverstanden. Detaillierte Informationen über den Einsatz von Cookies auf dieser Webseite erhalten Sie durch Klick auf „Mehr Informationen“. An dieser Stelle können Sie auch der Verwendung von Cookies widersprechen und die Browsereinstellungen entsprechend anpassen.