Ulrich Pietsch PASSION FOR MEISSEN
Ulrich Pietsch

PASSION FOR MEISSEN

The Said and Roswitha Marouf Collection
368 pages
24,5 x 33 cm, ca. 600 colour illustrations. Hardcover with dust jacket.
English / German
ISBN: 978-3-89790-334-0

PUBLICATION OUT OF PRINT

The publication of the Said and Roswitha Marouf Collection focuses the viewer’s eye on the magnificent art works of the Meissen porcelain manufactory, which in 2010, on the occasion of its 300 anniversary, will celebrate the multifarious artistic wealth of the first European manufactory for porcelain. This book is not about the history of Meissen porcelain in the eighteenth century, which has been examined in numerous publications, but is rather a feast for the senses. The collection documented here provides a representative survey of the early creative period of the Meissen manufactory, especially in the area of painting, with outstanding works of art by Johann Gregorius Höroldt and his workshop.

Also the small sculptural work of Johann Joachim Kaendler and co-workers is presented in detail. The diversity of the porcelain items, chosen with care and collector’s passion, is reflected in the some 500 reproductions – including numerous large-format reproductions – of the nearly 200 art works. In the clear commentaries and in magnificent reproductions – including many details – the individual characteristics and distinctive features of these works are vividly presented.
Since 1994 the author, Dr. Ulrich Pietsch, has been director of the Porcelain Collection of the Staatliche Kunstsammlungen Dresden, the world’s largest collection of Meissen porcelain of the eighteenth century.

This meticulously designed publication focuses on the artistic details of the masterpieces of Meissen porcelain.

See also

Meissen Barockes Porzellan


PRESS COMMENTS

“If, like me, you already thought you liked early Meissen porcelain, as you turn the pages of this book you’ll succumb to yet another dose of the maladie de porcelaine: ‘liking’ will
transmute into passion.” LarsTtharp, Ceramic Review 253, January/February 2012, p. 28

Leave a Comment

Cookies on the website

If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time. You can find detailed information about how cookies are used on this website by clicking on ‘Find out more’.

Ulrich Pietsch PASSION FOR MEISSEN
Ulrich Pietsch

PASSION FOR MEISSEN

Sammlung Said und Roswitha Marouf
368 Seiten
24,5 x 33 cm, ca. 600 Farbabbildungen. Hardcover mit Schutzumschlag.
Deutsch / Englisch
ISBN: 978-3-89790-334-0

TITEL VERGRIFFEN

Die Publikation der Sammlung Said und Roswitha Marouf lenkt den Blick auf die großartigen Kunstwerke der Meissener Porzellanmanufaktur, die 2010 ihr 300jähriges Bestehen begeht, und feiert den Detailreichtum der ersten europäischen Manufaktur für Hartporzellan. Somit ist das Buch kein Werk über die Geschichte des Meissener Porzellans im 18. Jahrhundert, die bereits in zahlreichen Publikationen behandelt wurde, sondern ein Fest der Sinne. Die hier dokumentierte Sammlung gibt einen repräsentativen Überblick über die frühe Schaffensperiode der Meissener Manufaktur, besonders auf dem Gebiet der Malerei mit herausragenden Zeugnissen Johann Gregorius Höroldts und seiner Werkstatt.

Auch die kleinplastischen Werke Johann Joachim Kaendlers und seiner Mitarbeiter werden ausführlich gewürdigt. Die Vielfalt der mit Bedacht und großer Sammelleidenschaft ausgewählten Porzellane spiegelt sich in den etwa 500, zum Teil großformatigen Abbildungen der etwa 200 Porzellankunstwerke. Diese werden mit ihren charakteristischen Eigenschaften und Besonderheiten in den kommentierenden, klaren Texten und in brillanten Abbildungen – darunter viele Details – eindrucksvoll dargestellt.

Der Autor, Dr. Ulrich Pietsch, ist seit 1994 Direktor der Porzellansammlung der Staatlichen Kunstsammlungen Dresden, der weltgrößten Sammlung von Meissener Porzellan des 18. Jahrhunderts.

Die liebevoll gestaltete Publikation richtet ihren Blick auf das bildnerische Detail der frühen Meisterwerke des Meissener Porzellans.

Siehe auch
Meissen Barockes Porzellan

 


PRESSESTIMMEN

„If, like me, you already thought you liked early Meissen porcelain, as you turn the pages of this book you’ll succumb to yet another dose of the maladie de porcelaine: ‘liking’ will
transmute into passion.“ LarsTtharp, Ceramic Review 253, Januar/Februar 2012, S. 28

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Hinweis zu Cookies

Durch die Nutzung dieser Webseite erklären Sie sich mit der Verwendung von Cookies einverstanden. Detaillierte Informationen über den Einsatz von Cookies auf dieser Webseite erhalten Sie durch Klick auf „Mehr Informationen“. An dieser Stelle können Sie auch der Verwendung von Cookies widersprechen und die Browsereinstellungen entsprechend anpassen.