Iris Edenheiser | Astrid Nielsen (Hg.) im Auftrag der Staatlichen Kunstsammlungen Dresden TECUMSEH
Iris Edenheiser | Astrid Nielsen (Hg.) im Auftrag der Staatlichen Kunstsammlungen Dresden

TECUMSEH, KEOKUK, BLACK HAWK

Portrayals of Native Americans in Times of Treaties and Removal
216 pages
21 x 27 cm, 92 colour illustrations. Hardback.
English / German
ISBN: 978-3-89790-400-2

PUBLICATION OUT OF PRINT

The Dresden sculptor Ferdinand Pettrich’s ‘Indian Museum’, created in the nineteenth century, is presented comprehensively from an interdisciplinary art history and historico-cultural perspective – from the exploration of artistic and creative details to biographical details about the portrayed personalities.

The colonisation of the world by European powers led to the production of a wealth of images of the colonised cultures and peoples. Images of North American Indians play an important role in our visual culture. This publication illuminates how they are represented, as well as their political and historico-cultural background, based on the so-called ‘Indian Museum’ of the Dresden sculptor Ferdinand Pettrich (1798–1872).
In the 1830s, Pettrich travelled to Washington and portrayed representatives of Indian tribes in 33 reliefs, statues, busts, and bozzetti made of terracotta-coloured plaster. These tribes were negotiating treaties with the US government about the future usage of the land. The portraits were created during a decisive phase of national history, when the US government’s policy towards the Native Americans was becoming increasingly hostile and the young nation was striving for further expansion and a national identity, while the native inhabitants were fighting for their physical and cultural survival.
Pettrich’s oeuvre is an early example of the recurring motif of North American Indians in European and Euro-American art. The classically-influenced forms of these representations, the influence of the simultaneously emerging ‘Indian painting’, as well as the lasting fascination of the subject of ‘Indians’ are presented here, along with the political context of the era the works were created in.

Article in The New York Times: http://www.nytimes.com/2013/09/27/arts/design/newcomb-pottery-will-go-on-view-at-tulane.html

Leave a Comment

Under these unusual circumstances, with exhibitions, galleries and our favourite book shops closed – and whilst we are all recommended to maintain social distancing – we think our beautiful art publications could be the perfect way to get through this uncertain period.

30% off all purchases and free delivery with code

STAYHOME

EU, UK, Switzerland, Norway, US & Canada only. Not valid for fixed price books in Germany and Austria

Cookies on the website

If you continue without changing your settings, we’ll assume that you are happy to receive all cookies on the website. However, if you would like to, you can change your cookie settings at any time. You can find detailed information about how cookies are used on this website by clicking on ‘Find out more’.

Iris Edenheiser | Astrid Nielsen (Hg.) im Auftrag der Staatlichen Kunstsammlungen Dresden TECUMSEH
Iris Edenheiser | Astrid Nielsen (Hg.) im Auftrag der Staatlichen Kunstsammlungen Dresden

TECUMSEH, KEOKUK, BLACK HAWK

Indianerbildnisse in Zeiten von Verträgen und Vertreibung
216 Seiten
21 x 27 cm, 92 Abbildungen in Farbe. Hardcover.
Deutsch / Englisch
ISBN: 978-3-89790-400-2

Titel vergriffen

Beschreibung:

Das im 19. Jahrhundert entstandene „indianische Museum“ des Dresdner Bildhauers Ferdinand Pettrich wird aus einer interdisziplinären Perspektive – von der Untersuchung künstlerisch-handwerklicher Details bis zu biografischen Exkursen über die porträtierten Persönlichkeiten – umfassend kunst- und kulturhistorisch beleuchtet.

Mit der Kolonisierung der Welt durch europäische Mächte setzte eine weitreichende Bildproduktion über die kolonisierten Kulturen und Menschen ein. Bilder von nordamerikanischen Indianern haben dabei einen prominenten Platz in unserer visuellen Kultur inne. Die Publikation beleuchtet diese Repräsentationsweisen und ihren politischen und kulturhistorischen Hintergrund am Beispiel des „indianischen Museums“ des Dresdner Bildhauers Ferdinand Pettrich (1798–1872).

Pettrich reiste in den 1830ern nach Washington und porträtierte in 33 Reliefs, Statuen, Büsten und Bozzetti aus terrakottafarben bemaltem Gips Vertreter indianischer Stämme, die mit der US-Regierung Verträge über die zukünftige Nutzung des Landes aushandelten. Die Bildnisse entstanden in einer entscheidenden Phase der Landesgeschichte, als die Politik der US-Regierung gegenüber den Native Americans zunehmend aggressiver wurde und die junge Nation um weitere Ausdehnung und nationale Identität, die Ureinwohner dagegen um ihr physisches und kulturelles Überleben kämpften.

Pettrichs Werk ist ein frühes Beispiel für das wiederkehrende Motiv nordamerikanischer Indianer in europäischer und euro-amerikanischer Kunst. Die klassizistisch geprägte Formensprache dieser Darstellungen, der Einfluss der zeitgleich aufkommenden „Indianermalerei“ sowie die bis heute andauernde Faszinationskraft des Sujets „Indianer“ werden thematisiert. Darüber hinaus wird der politische Kontext der Entstehungszeit des Werks aufgezeigt.


Besprechung in The New York Times

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren:

AUTO DIDAKTIKA
ZULU BEER VESSELS
MANDALA
IMAG(IN)ING THE NAGAS

Hinweis zu Cookies

Durch die Nutzung dieser Webseite erklären Sie sich mit der Verwendung von Cookies einverstanden. Detaillierte Informationen über den Einsatz von Cookies auf dieser Webseite erhalten Sie durch Klick auf „Mehr Informationen“. An dieser Stelle können Sie auch der Verwendung von Cookies widersprechen und die Browsereinstellungen entsprechend anpassen.